The Fureys & Davey Arthur   •   When You Were Sweet Sixteen (CAN)

image image image
  • When You Were Sweet Sixteen
    • 1983 - Avalon AVE 1013 LP (CAN)
  • Side One
    1. I Will Love You Ev'ry Time (P. Coulter, T. Paxton)
    2. Yesterday's People (F. Furey, M. Flaherty)
    3. The Green Fields Of France (E. Bogle)
    4. Lonesome Boatman (F. Furey)
    5. The Old Man (P. Coulter)
    6. Oh! Babushka (P. Coulter, B. Martin)
  • Side Two
    1. When You Were Sweet Sixteen (F. Furey, J. Thornton)
    2. Anniversary Song (Jolson, P. Coulter)
    3. Belfast Mill (Oregon Mill) (F. Furey, Kahn)
    4. Seige Of A Nation (Mikis Theodracus)
    5. Yesterday's Men (Phil Coulter)
    6. My Love Is Like A Red Red Rose (Trad. Arr. Finbar Furey)

  • Musicians
    • Eddie Furey: Vocals, Guitar, Mandola, Bohran
    • Finbar Furey: Lead Vocals, Uilleann Pipes, Banjo, Guitar, Whistles, Flute
    • Paul Furey: Accordion, Melodion, Whistles, Spoons, Backing Vocals
    • George Furey: Vocals, Guitar, Accordion
    • Davey Arthur: Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin, Backing Vocals
  • Credits
    • Producer: Phil Coulter
      • Except, Tracks: 3, 4, 7 & 10 — Produced by Finbar Furey
    • Recorded at Lombard Studios Dublin
    • Recording Engineer: Fred Meijer
    • Overdubs and Mixing at Mayfair Studios London
    • Overdubs & Mixing: Brian Tench
    • Mastered at The Town House London
    • Concept & Design Coordination: Michael McDonagh
    • Design, Art Direction: Shoot That Tiger!
    • Photography: Hugh Glyn

Sleeve Notes

The Fureys originate from a musical family from Ballyermont, Dublin and two years ago Davey Arthur from Scotland joined the four Furey brothers to complete the group. The Furey family is steeped in musical tradition. The boys' father being an accomplished fiddle player who encouraged his sons by his love of music and also taught Davey Arthur who had visited Ireland on a holiday in his early teens. All the group are talented multi instrumentalists and composers making them an institution in Ireland and through recent hit singles and concerts, increasingly popular in many other parts of the world. This album is intended to illustrate their international appeal and dedicated to the memory of Ted Furey.