Ryan's Fancy   •   Newfoundland Drinking Songs

image image image
  • Newfoundland Drinking Songs
    • 1973 - Audat 477-9024 LP (CAN)
  • Side One
    1. Intro
    2. The Night That Paddy Murphy Died
    3. Nancy Whiskey
    4. Miss McLeod's Reel
    5. The Northern Lights Of Old Aberdeen
    6. The Rocky Road To Dublin
    7. I'm A Rover
  • Side Two
    1. Ryans And Pittmans
    2. Finnegan's Wake
    3. Twenty One Years
    4. Road To the Isles And The Beggarman
    5. Butcher Boy
    6. Fare Thee Well Enniskillen

  • Ryan's Fancy
    • Dermot O'Reilly
    • Fergus O'Byrne
    • Denis Ryan
  • Credits
    • Produced by Ryan's Fancy for Media Artists Services/Fivetake Group Productions Limited
    • Engineer: Dr. A. Feeney and Grant Kennedy
    • Recording: Audio Atlantic, Halifax, N. S.
    • Special Thanks to Bill Hailey & Bill Richards
    • All tracks: Trad. Arr. Ryan, O'Reilly, O'Byrne

Sleeve Notes

Any Newfoundlander who ever went to any party, anywhere, anytime, has himself one Hell of a good time. What we have here, sure, is this new Ryan's Fancy album. "PARTY", is a guaranteed good time for Newfoundlanders or anyone else, party or not, and very much an icebreaker at more and more "in" parties this season, "up-along".

Denis Ryan, Dermot O'Reilly, and Fergus O'Byrne - RYAN'S FANCY - are Irishmen "Bread and buttered", as the saying goes. They have long since settled (and since they're here to stay) in Canada's "Happy Province". More specially they are residents of St. John's -students all at Memorial University of Newfoundland - and well on their way to National, indeed World, acclaim for their natural spontaneity of presentation, yet devotion to ethnic authenticity.

Johnny Murphy
Program Director