The Ian Campbell Folk Group   •   Contemporary Campbells & New Impressions

image image
more images
  • Contemporary Cambpells & New Impressions
    • 1997 - Essential/Castle ESM ED 523 CD (UK)
  • Tracklist
    1. Marilyn Monroe (Carter, McEwen)
    2. Dirty Old Town (MacColl)
    3. Thirty Foot Trailer (MacColl)
    4. My Donal (Hand)
    5. Battle Of The Somme (Robertson)
    6. Hard Life On The Cut (Campbell)
    7. Net Hauling Song (MacColl)
    8. Death Come Easy (Andrews)
    9. Rights Of Man
    10. Liverpool Lullaby (Kelly)
    11. Four Pounds A Day (Kelly)
    12. The Dove (Trad., MacColl)
    13. Bloody Orkney
    14. D Day Dodgers (Schultze, Leip, Henderson)
    15. Lord Of The Dance (Carter, Arr. Dunkerley)
    16. Berwick Brose
    17. The Snow Is Falling (Campbell, Dunkerley)
    18. The Bold Benjamin
    19. New York Gals
    20. The Shoemaker
    21. Baron O'Brackley (Child 201)
    22. Aye Waukin O'
    23. Lover Let Me In (Campbell)
    24. Greensleeves (Trad. arr. Watts)
    25. Can Ye Sew Cushions
    26. Farewell To Tarwathy
    27. Gulls O' Invergordon
    28. The Laird O' The Windy Wa's (Traditional)
    29. The Card Song

  • The Ian Campbell Folk Group
    • Ian Campbell: Vocals
    • Lorna Campbell: Vocals
    • Brian Clark: Vocals, Guitar, Autoharp
    • John Dunkerley: Banjo, Guitar, Accordion
    • Dave Swarbrick: Fiddle, Viola, Mandolin (Contemporary Campbells)
    • George Watts: Flute, Piccolo, Clarinet (New Impressions)
  • Credits
    • Contemporary Cambpells
      • Recorded at Olympic Studios, London, 1965
      • Produced by Nathan Joseph
      • Original Cover Design by Brian Shuel
      • Photo by John Adams
    • New Impressions
      • Recorded and Produced by Nathan Joseph at Pye Studios London 1966
      • Original Cover Design and Photo by Brian Shuel
      • Notes by Ian Campbell
    • All tracks: Trad. arr. Campbell, except where indicated.

Sleeve Notes

These two highly regarded albums recorded by the Ian Campbell Folk Group in the mid-sixties contain their innovative arrangements of traditional and contemporary material, including songs by Ewan MacColl, Sydney Carter, Harvey Andrews and Stan Kelly. On Contemporary Campbells, originally released in 1965, the group's sound still featured the fiddle and mandolin playing of Dave Swarbrick. With New Impressions, released in 1966, Ian Campbell decided to bring in flute-player George Watts to replace Swarbrick, helping to create a new direction for the group, then at the peak of their success on the European folk scene. This the first time these two LPs have been re-issued on CD.

Laurence Aston