Anthologies   •   Lament

  • Lament
    • 1992 - RealWorld/CEMA CDRW27 CD (UK)
  • Tracklist:
    1. Lament For the Dead of the North Davy Spillane
    2. The Bright Lady — Declan Masterson
    3. Sean O Duibhir A'Ghleanna — Paddy Glackin
    4. An Droighnean Donn — Maighréad Ni Dhomhnail
    5. Plunkett — Michael O'Suilleabhain
    6. One Breath — Alanna OKelly
    7. Port Na Bpucai Tony MacMahon
    8. Danny Boy Christy Moore
    9. Taim-Se im Chodhladh — Sean Potts
    10. Sliabh Geal Gcua — Kevin Conneff
    11. Carolan's Devotion John Sheahan
    12. An Bonnan Bui Séan Potts
    13. John O'Dwyer of the Glen — Neil Martin
    14. O'Carolan's Farewell — Derek Bell

  • Musicians
    • Alanna O'Kelly: Vocals
    • Christy Moore: Vocals, Bodhrán
    • Davy Spillane: Whistle
    • Declan Masterson: Uilleann Pipes
    • Derek Bell: Harp
    • John Sheahan: Fiddle
    • Kevin Conneff: Vocals
    • Maighréad Ní Dhomhnaill: Vocals
    • Mícháel O'Súilleabháin: Piano
    • Neil Martin: Cello
    • Paddy Glackin: Fiddle
    • Seán Óg Potts: Uilleann Pipes, Whistle
    • Tony MacMahon: Accordion
  • Credits
    • Producers: Brian Masterson & Nigel Rolfe
    • Engineers: Andrew Boland & Brian Masterson


Apparently this CD was originally released on Peter Gabriel's Realworld label: "A collection of beautiful and haunting Irish laments. All pieces are solo performances, recorded especially for this album, including Christy Moore (voice and bodhrán), Davy Spillane (low whistle), Mícháel O'Súilleabháin (piano), and Derek Bell (harp). A powerful statement, where artists were asked to record their saddest air as a memory for the loss of innocent life in the Troubles."