Anthologies   •   My Ireland

image image image
  • My Ireland
    • 1981 - RTE 58 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. Spancil Hill (Trad.) — Red Hurley
    2. Nancy Spain (Rush) — Brendan Shine
    3. Quiet Please – There's a Lady on Stage (Allen) — Sandie Jones
    4. The Foggy Dew (Trad.) — Jim McCann
    5. Rare Oul' Times (St. John) — Tony Kenny
    6. The Ballad of John Williams (McEvoy) — Johnny McEvoy
  • Side Two
    1. Easy and Slow (Trad.) — Jim McCann
    2. Just a Little Dash of Dublin (Trad.) — Sandie Jones
    3. From Clare to Here (McTell) — Red Hurley
    4. Dublin Saunter (Maguire) — Tony Kenny
    5. Ballinamona Hat (Trad.) — Brendan Shine
    6. Alice Ben Bolt (Trad.) — Johnny McEvoy

  • Credits
    • Songs from the RTE Series Produced by Ian McGarry
    • Record Produced by Bill Whelan
    • Sound: Brian Lynch
    • Sound recorded at Windmill Studios Dublin
    • Production Assistant: Carolyn Fisher
    • Concept: Brian Molloy
    • Musical Director: Bill Whelan
    • Special thanks to Michael Feeney Callan
    • Illustration: Colette Scraggs
    • Photography: John Rowe
    • Layout: John Cogan
    • © RadioTelefis Éireann 1981

Sleeve Notes

MY IRELAND is a television series which features six of Ireland's top singers. To make the series the six artists selected a specific theme or place. TONY KENNY takes us to the Liberties in Dublin, BRENDAN SHINE brings us on the River Shannon, SANDIE JONES gives us a tour of Dublin's music halls, while RED HURLEY brings us to the famous traditional music centre of County Clare. Jim McCann takes us down the Liffey and JOHNNY McEVOY concentrates on the theme of emigration. This album is a permanent record of some of the songs featured in the television series. I hope that you enjoy listening to the songs as much as we enjoyed making the programmes!

Producer/Director, RTE Television