The Luke Kelly Album   •   Luke Kelly

image image image
  • The Luke Kelly Album
    • 1981 - Chyme CHLP 1016 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. The Button Pusher (Enoch Kent)
    2. Scorn Not His Simplicity (Phil Coulter)
    3. The Sun Is Burning (Ian Campbell)
    4. The Blantyre Explosion (Trad. Scots)
    5. For What Died The Sons Of Roisin (Luke Kelly)
    6. Dainty Davey (Trad. Scots)
    7. The Unquiet Grave (Trad English)
  • Side Two
    1. Dirty Old Town (Ewan Mccoll)
    2. The Foggy Dew (Coll. Colm O Lochlainn, Arr. Dubliners)
    3. Farewell To Carlingford (Tommy Makem)
    4. The Town I Loved So Well (Coulter)
    5. Parcel Of Rogues (Trad. Arr. Dubliners)
    6. Bunclody (Coll. Colm O Lochlainn, Arr. Dubliners)
    7. The Rare Auld Times (Pete St. John)

  • Credits
    • Produced by Chyme Records J.F. Kennedy Drive, Dublin 12, Ireland
    • Sleeve Design and Artwork O Lochlainn Design Associates, Dublin
    • Typesetting Ampersand, Dublin

Sleeve Notes

This is a selection of my favourite songs. The idea for the album came from a very old mate of mine Dara O Lochlainn.

It's not as easy a job as I first thought it might be. For instance — when I first looked over the list of titles I was featured on, there were at the same time MORE — and disconcertingly LESS than I thought!

Over the years with the "DUBS" an individual image has emerged for each of us. Mine I imagine to be loud, fiery and up tempo — but then almost to re-assure me it is also of a gentle, quiet, crying, almost "sotto-voce" type of character.

So what I've tried to do on this Album is to select the type of songs I might choose to sing at a party.

I think I've covered the whole spectrum from Love — Dainty Davy and The Unquiet Grave to Disgust — Parcel of Rogues and For what Died the Sons of Roisin. The rest is a selection of the most often requested songs I know. I hope you have as much pleasure in listening as I do in performing

Luke Kelly