North Sea Gas

North Sea Gas

… a brief history

image North Sea Gas (NSG) was founded in 1981, in Edinburgh by Dave Gilfillan, Wally Allan & Colin Mackenzie. Over the years the line up has changed, with Dave Gilfillan as mainstay throughout. Starting out as part- time musicians, based primarily in Edinburgh, Dave turned professional (full-time) in the early 80's, and began to perform more on a regular basis outside of Scotland.

  • Current Line Up:
    • Dave Gilfillan (1981-Present): Lead vocals, Guitar, Bodhrán, Banjo, Percussion, Concertina, Mandola & Whistle — founding member
    • Ronnie McDonald (2002-Present): Vocals, Bouzouki & Guitar (Ronnie was also a group member in for 4 months 1983).
    • Grant Simpson (2006-Present): Vocals, Fiddle, Mandola, Bouzouki & Guiitar

  • Past members:
    • Colin Mackenzie (1981-1991): Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica, Mandolin, Banjo & Bodhrán — founding member
    • Wally Allan (1981-1983): Vocals, Guitar, Banjo, Lagerphone & Bodhrán — founding member.
    • Colin Ramage (1983-1986 & 1989-1998): Vocals, Guitar, Mandolin, Mandola, Tenor Banjo, Whistle, Flute, Bodhrán, Mouth Organ & Percussion
    • Gerry McKenna (1986-1988 & 1998-Present): Banjo, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards & Harmony Vocals — primarily as a part-time member
    • Bobby Millar (1988-2002): Bass Guitar, Double Bass & Harmony Vocals — primarily as a part-time member.
    • Kirsty McLean (1998-2002): Fiddle
    • Tim O'Leary (2002-2004): Vocals, Guitar, Cittern, Fiddle, Whistle, Mouth Organ
    • Cameron Gaskell (2004-2006): Harmony Vocals, Fiddle & Mandola — sadly Cameron passed away in January 2007 at the age of 46.
  • Source:
    • Dave Gilfillan has written a very thorough history of the band, and the above dates are based this information.
    • Read Dave's full history at the North Sea Gas website.