Dónal Lunny's Definitive … Lisdoonvarna


  • Dónal Lunny's Definitive … Lisdoonvarna
    • 2003 - WEA 5046671792 CD
  • Disc One:
    1. Queen of the Rushes Planxty: from Words and Music (1983)
    2. The Kilfenora Set — The Chieftains
    3. Hiroshima Nagasaki Russian Roulette Moving Hearts: from Moving Hearts (1981)
    4. Sweet Dreams — Emmylou Harris
    5. Old Town — Phil Lynott
    6. Lisdoonvarna Christy Moore: from Ride On (1984)
    7. Angeline — John Martyn
    8. Shoot Out the Lights — Richard & Linda Thompson
    9. Way Out Yonder Andy Irvine: from Way Out Yonder (2000)
    10. Brute Force & Ignorance — Rory Gallagher
    11. The Pretender — Jackson Browne
    12. The World Is What You Make It Paul Brady
    13. The Pigeon On the Gate — Davy Spillane
    14. Martha — Freddie White
    15. Down In the City — Scullion
    16. Star of the County Down — Van Morrison & The Chieftains
    17. In A Lifetime — Clannad
  • Bonus CD
    1. Underneath the World — Halite
    2. I Need Love — Luka Bloom
    3. Lay Me Down — The Frames
    4. You Know What I Want To Know — David Kitt
    5. The Time Has Come — Christy Moore: from The Time Has Come (1983)

  • Track Notes:
    • In spite of the title, these are not live tracks from the Lisdoonvarna Festivals.


Planxty, The Chieftains and Christy Moore are amongst the artists on a compilation album from the early years of the Lisdoonvarna festival. Dónal Lunny has compiled the album which also includes songs from musicians such as Emmylou Harris, Richard and Linda Thompson and Rory Gallagher. Lunny was the in-house soundmixer for three Lisdoonvarnas, as well as playing with Planxty and Moving Hearts. A total of 150 acts performed at the festival which took place each summer from 1978 to 1983.

— Entertainment