The Tannahill Weavers

The Tannahill Weavers: The Tannahill Weavers IV

  • The Tannahill Weavers IV
    • 1981 - Plant Life PLR 028 LP
    • 1982 - Green Linnet SIF 3102 LP
    • 1993 - Hedera HRCD104 CD
  • Side One
    1. Johnnie Cope/The Atholl Highlanders
    2. The Trooper and the Maid/The Sound of Sleat
    3. I Once Loved a Lass
    4. Paddy O'Rafferty/Sandy Duff
    5. Auld Lang Syne
  • Side Two
    1. Captain Carswell/Susan MacLeod /The Caber Feidh
    2. The Gaberlunzie Man/Mrs. MacLeod of Raasay
    3. The Terror Time
    4. The Birkin Tree
    5. Lieutenant Maguire/Donald MacLean

  • The Tannahill Weavers
    • Roy Gullane: Guitar, Banjo, Vocals
      Phil Smillie: Whistles, Flutes, Bodhrán, Glockenspiel, Harp, Vocals
      Alan MacLeod: Highland Bagpipes, Whistles, Mandola, Organ, Vocals
      Les Wilson: Bouzouki, Mandolin, Guitar, Bass Pedals, Vocals
  • Credits — 1993 - Hedera CD release
    • Digitally re-mastered by Phil Smillie at Pier House Studios, Edinburgh, Scotland
    • Engineered by Peter Haigh.

Sleeve Notes

LUTON 18:1:81

As the sun sinks slowly behind the Vauxhall works and the strains of pipes, flutes and strings fade into the distance, our raggle taggle crew hot foot it over yonder horizon in search of Eldorado, or any other liquid refreshment.

Our trusty amigo, Dave, from the adobies of Bearsden, gets the boot down and switches to automatic pilot for the M1, M6 and A74 (if we had but one coin of the realm for evey time we made that journey…)

The ghost of an empty recording studio remains with us as we cross the border in a silence broken only by the occasional scratch of matches and the hiss of ring pulls and, at last, we are home for a few fleeting hours after recording this new album.

Clap the dog and change the socks (Roy changes with Phil and Les with Alan) and off we'll be again to who knows where. Lift up your glass to tomorrow, Dougie, we did meet once again further on. Many thanks to you for adding fiddle here and there with your usual expertise.

Thanks again, yet again, to Nigel for his sterling work and advice in the steaming cauldron known as a studio. Finally to Dave and Simon, we hope we didn't leave too much behind us. Thanks for everything.

So here then is Tannahill's IV, the first offering from the new line up. May you enjoy listening to it as much as we did recording it.

Tannahill Weavers