North America

Ryan's Fancy

Ryan's Fancy: Songs from the Shows


  • Songs from the Shows
    • 2001 - Avalon Music 02 02025 CD
  • Track List:
    1. The Wild Goose
    2. Come Along
    3. Go To Sea No More
    4. The Cliffs Of Baccalieu
    5. The Boys Of The Island
    6. The Ryans And The Pittmans
    7. Farewell To Tarwathie
    8. The Squid Jiggin Ground
    9. The Hills Of Glenswilly
    10. As Johnny Went Ploughin
    11. The Green Shores Of Fogo
    12. A Great Big Sea/The Copper Plate Reel
    13. Come To The Bower
    14. Fear a'Bheata

  • Ryan's Fancy
    • Dermot O'Reilly
    • Fergus O'Byrne
    • Denis Ryan

Excepts of Sleeve Notes

In 1999 and 2000, the local CBC Television station in St. John's rebroadcast some of the old Ryan's Fancy shows as part of an innovative series called "Rewind". The re-runs generated a great deal of interest and nostalgia. It was noted by many just how timeless the shows were and how well the music had survived the test of time. This collection of songs is a response to that renewed interest in the music of Ryan's Fancy. With the disbanding of Ryan's Fancy in 1983 I had placed most of the pre-recorded music tapes and field tapes from the shows in the care of the Folklore Archives at Memorial University in St. John's. The Archives have been the source of much of the material used on this recording.

Jack Kellum
Executive Producer Performance Programs
CBC Television
Halifax, Nova Scotia