Brian Warfield: Ireland - The Famine Story

image image image
  • Ireland - The Famine Story
    • 1996 - MICL (?) CD
  • Celtic Exodus - The Famine Story
    • 1997 - Celtic Collections KCDE 550 CD
    • 1999 - Celtic Collections CCCD 180 CD
    • 1999 - Ritz Music Group 003 CD
    • 2001 - Erin/Valley 15105 CD
  • The Winter Crossing
    • 2007 - Spirit Records EICD618 CD
  • Track List:
    1. Famine Theme
    2. Time Running Out – Black 47
    3. My Ireland
    4. The Workhouse
    5. The Blessing
    6. Ships At Sea
    7. 1848, 49 And 50 – The Famine Years
    8. Liverpool
    9. The Crossing
    10. The Keen For The Millions Lost
    11. Thank God For America

  • Musicians
    • Brian Warfield & The Celtic Folk Orchestra
  • Credits
    • Engineers: Debbie Smith & Tony Parry
    • Recorded at Pulse Studios, Dublin, Ireland
    • Designed by Zeus Design, Dublin
    • An Emigrant Ship, Dublin Bay, Sunset by Edwin Hayes, 1853 (1999 Celtic Collections cover)
  • Notes:
    • This is an all instrumental album by Brian Warfield made during the Wolfe Tones' dormant recording period.
    • All the information on this recording comes from the 1999 Celtic Collections release.

Sleeve Notes

CELTIC EXODUS - THE FAMINE STORY is a musical equivalent of Les Miserable, which records the events of the Famine through songs, dialogue and fully scored music. 1997 saw the 150th anniversary of the Famine Black 47, and the album was released as a commemorative work. CELTIC EXODUS - THE FAMINE STORY, is a moving album that tells the tragic tale of time. Uileann Pipes, Box Accordions, Whistles, Bodhráns all merge with orchestra to form an emotive story-telling within a musical framework.

CELTIC EXODUS - THE FAMINE STORY begins with the musical theme Black 47, where tragedy is encapsulated in haunting melody. Musical themes progress chronologically through the principal events of the Famine, which include Workhouses, Blessings, Exodus, Ships At Sea and climaxes in a celebratory spirit in Thank Cod For America. CELTIC EXODUS marks and pays tribute to one of the most important episodes in Ireland's history. It is as important as a social and historical chronicle as it is a gripping musical masterpiece.