The Fureys and Davey Arthur

The Fureys and Davey Arthur: The Reel Years: 1973 - 1983


  • The Reel Years: 1973 - 1983
    • 2008 - Humblebum BUM001 CD
  • Track List:
    1. Introduction
    2. Mary McMahon
      Drowsy Maggie
    3. Banish Misfortune
    4. Paddy Fahy's
      The Humours Of Tulla
    5. Ask My Father
      The Bheara
      The Steampacket
    6. Tamlin
      The Big Kerry
    7. The Valley Of Gold
      George White's
      Aoife's Bottle
    8. Snug In The Blanket
      Dever The Dancer
      The Maid In The Meadow
    9. The Wheels Of The World
    10. Eileen Curran
      The Old Pigeon On The Gate
      The Green Groves Of Erin
    11. The Moving Cloud
      The Old Copperplate
      The Lone Bush
    12. Alcoholidays

  • Musicians
    • Davey Arthur: Banjo, Mandolin & Guitar
    • George Furey: Guitars
    • Paul Furey: Accordion & Spoons
    • Finbar Furey: Uilleann Pipes, Whistles & Banjo
    • Eddie Furey: Bodhran


With short spoken introduction (by Davey Arthur), an anthology of some instrumental tracks that fired The Fureys with Davey to fame. The intros add some history to the music and paint a picture of the formation of what became a musical sensation of the time with their ballad hits. But they were jigging & reeling long before that with music like this and it all lives on after 'the hits' may have been forgotten.