The Bards

The Bards: Classic Irish Ballads


  • Classic Irish Ballads
    • 1986 - TARA 3018 LP
  • Side One
    1. Cliffs of Dooneen
    2. The Fields of Athenry
    3. Whiskey In The Jar
    4. Green Fields of France
    5. Follow Me Up To Carlow
    6. The Curragh of Kildare
  • Side Two
    1. Spancil Hill
    2. Down By The Sally Gardens
    3. The Ferryman
    4. Waltzing Matilda
    5. Nancy Spain

  • The Bards
    • Diarmuid O'Leary: Lead Vocals and Guitar
    • Christy Sheridan: Mandolin and Banjo
    • Ann O'Connor: Lead Vocals [1]
    • Smithy: Bass and Vocals
    • Fran Curry: Piano, Synthesizer and Accordion [1]
  • Musicians
    • Des Moore: Guitars
    • Davey Spillane: Pipes and Flute
  • Credits
    • Produced by The Bards and Andrew Boland
    • Engineer: Andrew Boland
    • Tape Op: Brona Walshe
    • Recorded at Lansdowne Studios Dublin
    • Mixed at Lansdowne and Westland Studios, Dublin
    • Sleeve Front Photography: Peter Zoeller
    • © 1986, Tara Records Ltd.
    • Tara Records Ltd., 4 Anne's Lane, Dublin 2, Ireland

image   image   image   image   image  

Sleeve Notes

"Diarmuid O'Leary & The Bards" with several hit records to their credit, are firmly established among the top entertainers in Ireland today. This, their fifth album is a collection of classic Irish ballads which are known and loved not only in Ireland but in many parts of the world.

  • Related release
    • Classic Irish Ballads: 1994 - TARACD 3018 CD
      1. This 1994 CD reissue includes with four extra tracks:
        • "Come Back Paddy Reilly"
        • "Bunch Of Thyme"
        • "Dublin In The Rare Auld Times"
        • "Isle of Innisfree"
    • In addition, Ann O'Connor is not credited at all on the expanded CD release.